F1 German GP Race Result

Fernando Alonso dominates in Germany

After the wet conditions of qualifying, the German Grand Prix took place under blue skies at the Hockenheimring.

Pole-sitter, Fernando Alonso kept the three German drivers of Sebastian Vettel, Michael Schumacher and Nico Hulkenberg behind him as he shot off the line to lead into the first corner.

Behind him, his team-mate Felipe Massa lost his front wing as he hit the back of Daniel Ricciardo at Turn 1 and was into the pits, as was Lotus driver Sebastian Grosjean with the same problem.

On Lap 3, Lewis Hamilton was having a disappointing start to his 100th Grand Prix with a puncture, while fellow Brit, Jenson Button made a solid start to chase down the top three.

Man on the move, Kimi Raikkonen was having a decent battle with Paul Di Resta and showing why Lotus put faith in his comeback, as he made a stunning move on the Scot at Turn 14 to move up to 8th.

Another climber was Sergio Perez, who despite being demoted two places in qualifying for blocking, had started in 17th and by lap 12 had moved into the top ten and into 9th.

With drivers entering the pits at lap 13 onwards, Alonso waited until lap 19 to change to the medium-soft tyres, bringing him back on track behind Vettel and Button, both having not stopped.

McLaren informed Hamilton they could make a one-stop strategy work, despite being 18th on lap 28, while his team-mate, Button was flying and only 3 seconds off leader, Alonso. The Spaniard was having his own struggles and with the current World Champion, Vettel breathing down his neck was giving it his all to keep him behind. His saviour came in the form of Hamilton, who was driving a faster car and was unlapping himself. Passing Vettel, who clearly was frustrated by the manoeuvre and having problem with Kers, he put a bit of clear air between them.

Mark Webber was having a quiet race after his win last time out at Silverstone. Both Saubers were ahead of him by lap 39, but they were 22 seconds off the leaders.

A few laps later Button made a lighting quick pitstop and on the next lap, Alonso and Vettel had done the same. Button was flying around the circuit and as Vettel exited the pits they were side by side, the Brit then getting ahead at Turn two.

Hamilton retired with eight laps remaining, his second retirement in three races, while Button got pushed down to third as Vettel took advantage of the Brit struggling with grip and overtook him off the circuit, a move to be investigated by the stewards.

Fernando Alonso dominated the German Grand Prix to take his third win of the season.

  1. Fernando Alonso
  2. Sebastian Vettel
  3. Jenson Button
  4. Kimi Raikkonen
  5. Kamui Kobayashi
  6. Sergio Perez
  7. Michael Schumacher
  8. Mark Webber
  9. Nico Hulkenberg
  10. Nico Rosberg
  11. Paul Di Resta
  12. Felipe Massa
  13. Daniel Ricciardo
  14. Jean-Eric Vergne
  15. Pastor Maldonado
  16. Vitaly Petrov
  17. Bruno Senna
  18. Sebastian Grosjean
  19. Heikki Kovalainen
  20. Charles Pic
  21. Pedro De La Rosa
  22. Timo Glock
  23. Narain Karthikeyan