My Garage

Introduction to the Glasgow Low Emission Zone

The Glasgow Low Emissions Zone (LEZ) is a now live for buses, while for other vehicle types, enforcement commences on 1st June 2023. The aim of the zone is to improve air quality in the city and reduce levels of harmful pollutants such as nitrogen oxides (NOx) and particulate matter (PM).

Boundaries of the low Emission Zone

The Glasgow Low Emission Zone covers an area within the city centre and part of the West End. The boundaries of the zone are marked by signs with the letters 'LEZ' and a solid blue circle. The zone covers the following streets:

  • Glasgow city centre
  • A section of the M8 motorway between the Charing Cross and Kingston Bridges
  • Part of the West End including Byres Road, Dumbarton Road and Great Western Road
Glasgow clean air zone map

Charges for Entering the Low Emission Zone

Vehicles that do not meet emissions standards must pay a daily charge to enter the Glasgow Low Emission Zone. The charges are as follows:

  • Initial Penalty: £60, reduced to £30 if paid within 14 days.
  • Subsequent Penalties: The charge doubles each time you enter the LEZ with the same non-compliant vehicle. For example, the second offence will cost £120.

The penalties are capped at:

  • Cars and Light Goods Vehicles: £480
  • Buses and Heavy Goods Vehicles (HGVs): £960

These charges apply to non-compliant vehicles every day of the year, including weekends and public holidays. Payment can be made online or by phone.

Exemptions to the Low Emission Zone Charges

Some vehicles are exempt from the Low Emission Zone charges, including:

  • Motorcycles and mopeds
  • Emergency service vehicles
  • Military vehicles
  • Historic vehicles
  • Disabled passenger vehicles
  • Vehicles used for agriculture or horticulture
  • Vehicles used for filming or broadcasting purposes

Dates of Launch for the Low Emission Zone

The Glasgow Low Emission Zone already applies to buses. For other vehicle types, enforcement commences on 1st June 2023 (1st June 2024 for residents within the zone).